WPC Theoretical Physics Symposium 2019

Auditorium CSSB, bldg. 15 (DESY Hamburg)

Auditorium CSSB, bldg. 15

DESY Hamburg

Notkestr. 85, 22607 Hamburg

The Wolfgang Pauli Centre for Theoretical Physics, a joint forum of the Universität Hamburg and DESY, organizes a three day Symposium on Theoretical Physics, which brings together leading international experts from different areas of physics, including condensed matter physics, atomic and molecular physics, cold atoms, chemical physics, etc. 

This year's topics are:

  • Quantum dynamics of many-body systems
  • Theory of Condensed Matter 
  • Machine learning and quantum physics

The Symposium features the award ceremony for the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics 2019 which is awarded to Prof. Matthias Troyer (Microsoft Research) in an award ceremony at the Planetarium on Nov 13, 2019. The Symposium is supported by the Joachim Herz Stiftung.


Travel Fellowships for Graduate Students

The Wolfgang Pauli Centre for Theoretical Physics encourages the participation of graduate students in the Symposium and therefore awards travel grants funded by the Joachim Herz Stiftung. Interested students should provide

  • a brief curriculum vitae (max. 2 pages), 
  • a brief description of the current research project (max. 1/2 page), and, 
  • a letter of motivation why they want to attend the symposium (max. 1/2 page).

Please send your application with these documents in one single pdf file until 15 October 2019 to


The applicants will be notified until end of October 2019 the latest.

Update: The recipients of the travel fellowships have been selected and notified.


Confirmed Speakers

Bela Bauer (Microsoft) 
Silke Biermann (EPL) 
Giuseppe Carleo (Flatiron, N.Y.) 
Susan Coppersmith (Wisconsin) 
Philippe Corboz (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
Andrew Daley (University of Strathclyde)
Chris H. Greene (Purdue University) 
Emanuel Gull (University of Michigan) 
Masatoshi Imada (University of Tokio) 
Mikhail Katsnelson (Nijmegen) 
David Landau (University of Georgia)
Maciej Lewenstein (Barcelona)
Andrew Millis (Columbia University) 
Shaul Mukamel (UC Irvine)
Lode Pollet (LMU Munich) 
Nikolai Prokofev (University of Massachusetts Amherst) 
Thomas Maurice Rice (ETH Zürich)
Alexey Rubtsov (RQC Moscow) 
Olga Smirnova (Max Born Institute, Berlin)
Alexey Soluyanov (ETH Zürich)  
Boris Svistunov (University of Massachusetts Amherst) 
Simon Trebst (Köln) 
Matthias Troyer (Microsoft Research)
James Whitfield (Dartmouth)
Uwe-Jens Wiese (Bern)
Fuchun Zhang (KITP China)


Local organizing committee

Alexander Lichtenstein, Volker Schomerus, Michael Thorwart



The agenda of this meeting is empty