DESY Commission for Ethics in Research

Meeting of the DESY Scientific Committee on 23 March 2021

Ulrike Beisiegel Chair of the DESY Commission for Ethics in Research





Motivation and Scope

Research Ethics in Germany ...

- 2014: Joint recommendations "Scientific Freedom and Scientific Responsibility" on handling security-relevant research by DFG and Leopoldina
- German research institutions and its researchers should draw up ethical rules for dealing with security-relevant research which go beyond legal requirements

... and at DESY

• Extension of scope:

Research projects with suspected ethical risks to human dignity, life, health, freedom, property, environment, the peaceful coexistence of peoples or other legal interests of equal value



DESY. | DESY Commission for Ethics in Research | Ulrike Beisiegel, 23 March 2021

Ethics@DESY and beyond

https://ethik.desy.de/ (English version upcoming)

Work of the DESY Commission for Ethics in Research

- Based on Statutes and Rules of Procedure
- Commission advises scientists on research projects with ethical risks and can make recommendations to the Directorate on ethical aspects of research projects
- DESY scientists, Directorate, Foundation Council and Scientific Council are entitled to submit requests
- Separation from questions of good scientific practice, but if relevant, cooperation with ombudspersons

Networking

- (Campus) Partners in Hamburg (UHH, UKE, ...) and Zeuthen
- Helmholtz: Exchange, Best Practice, Pool of Experts, ...

DESY. | DESY Commission for Ethics in Research | Ulrike Beisiegel, 23 March 2021



Composition of Commission

Internal und external members



Chair: Ulrike Beisiegel, former president of University Göttingen and former member of DESY Foundation Council

Dep.: N.N.



Member of Scientific Council: Bridget Murphy, CAU Kiel

Dep.: Tim Salditt, University Göttingen



Dep. Chair & Member of Scientific Committee: Oliver Seeck (FS)

Dep.: Kerstin Borras (FH)



Member qualified to hold the position of a judge: Sabine Celo (V, AK Recht)

Dep.: Katharina Paulat (V)



Further member: Karl Jansen (DESY Theory)

Dep.: Ann-Christin Dippel (FS)

DESY. | DESY Commission for Ethics in Research | Ulrike Beisiegel, 23 March 2021