Condensed Matter Physics and Chemistry Workshop 2025: Diffraction and Scattering In Fundamental and Applied Energy Research

Thursday 5 June 2025 - Friday 6 June 2025
DESY

Scientific Program

Program

Day 1

Welcome & Registration

A light lunch will be offered

Energy Storage

Chair Persons: Pampi Saha and Jiatu Liu

David Wragg (*Institute for Energy Technology - IFE, Norway*) : Time resolved X-ray diffraction and total scattering computed tomography for understanding batteries and catalysts .

Jannes Marten Ophey (*Fraunhofer-Institut für Siliziumtechnologie, Germnay*) : Process innovations at Fraunhofer ISIT for future battery cell production.

Simon Jacques (Finden Ltd., England): Chemical imaging as a tool to understand performance in commercial batteries.

Hans-Georg Steinrück (*Forschungszentrum Jülich & RWTH Aachen, Germany*) : Towards surface-sensitive X-ray measurements of non-model systems.

Poster Session & Coffee

Energy Harvesting and Conversion

Chair Persons: Arka Bikash Dey and Matthias Schwartzkopf

Kun Sun (*Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany*) : In-Situ and Operando Studies of Perovskite Solar Cells.

Benedikt Sochor (*Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Germany*) : Fully Sprayed Organic Thermoelectrics for Energy Harvesting Applications.

Michael Anthony Quintero (*Aarhus University, Denmark*) : From Synthesis to Scattering: Probing Intrinsic Properties in Energy-Relevant Materials.

Saturday 5 July 2025

Michael Störmer (*Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon, Germany*) : Thermal stability of hafnia-layers in thermophotovoltaic applications.

Dinner

Day 2

Catalysis

Chair Persons: Fernando Igoa and Sylvio Haas

Simone Mascotto (*University of Kobelenz, Germany*) : Shapeshifting bimetallic nanoparticles with switching catalytic performance.

Paula Abdala (*ETH Zürich, Switzerland*) : Uncovering the Structure of Solid Catalysts Across Scales Using X-Rays.

Kamila Iskhakova (*Karlsruhe Institute of Technology & Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Germany*) : Insight into Nb2O5 pellets through XRD-CT lens.

Dorota Koziej (*University of Hamburg, Germany*): In situ X-Ray Synchrotron Methods for Exploring the Length Scale in Nanostructured Materials and Devices.

Lunch

Energy Transport

Chair Persons: Martin v. Zimmermann and Ann-Christin Dippel

Emil Bozin (*Institute of Physics Belgrade, Serbia*) : High-Temperature Polaronic Lattice Distortions and Charge Ordering in 1T-TaS2.

Alexander Mistonov (*Technischen Universität Dresden, Germany*) : High-Energy X-ray Diffraction at Ultralow Temperatures in the Quantum Spin Liquid Candidate PbCuTe \square O \square .

Julia Küspert (The European Synchrotron Radiation Facility - ESRF, France): Tuning Stripe Order

in La-Based Cuprates with Temperature, Magnetic Field, and Uniaxial Stress.

Moritz Hoesch (*Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Germany*) : Pseudogap in Quasionedimensional Rb2Mo6Se6 .