December 19, 2018
Europe/Berlin timezone


Farewell colloquium at DESY Auditorium

4.00 pm     Opening and welcome addresses

  • Helmut Dosch (Chairman of the DESY Board of Directors)
  • Volkmar Dietz (Director of Large Facilities and Basic Research, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF)
  • Rolf Greve (Director-General, Hamburg Ministry of Science, Research and Equalities, BWFG)

4.40 pm    FELs Now and Tomorrow

  • Hans-Heinrich Braun (Project Leader Accelerator SWISSFEL at the Paul Scherrer Institut PSI, Villigen, Switzerland)

5.00 pm    Design and Challenges of 4th Generation Synchrotron Light Sources

  • Pantaleo Raimondi (Director, Accelerator and Source Division at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility ESRF, Grenoble, France)    

5.20 pm    Accelerator Research at DESY in the National and International Context

  • Leonid Rivkin (Deputy Director at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI, Villigen, Switzerland and member of the DESY Scientific Council)

5.40 pm    What Makes a (Successful) Scientist?

  • Marc Wenskat (Postdoctoral Researcher, Linear Accelerator Technology, DESY)

5.50 pm    Closing remarks


Reception in the DESY bistro

6.00 pm    Festive reception at DESY bistro

7.00 pm    Honorary speech

  • Norbert Holtkamp (Deputy SLAC Director, Accelerator Directorate at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory in Menlo Park, CA, USA)

Open end