October 16, 2019
DESY Hamburg
Europe/Berlin timezone
DESY Science Day 2019

On DESY Science Day we would like to look back at the research year 2019 and welcome our new lead scientists, celebrate current DESY scientific research highlights, honour personal merits and award the Ph. D. prize. The highlight of the event is the Jentschke lecture.
Every year DESY organizes the Science Day in memory of Prof. Dr. Willibald Jentschke. He was the first director of DESY and laid the foundation for a world leading laboratory playing an outstanding role in research based on accelerators. His knowledge, competence, vision and personality shaped DESY until today.

Research Centre DESY, Hamburg
Wednesday, 16 October 2019

Morning program
FLASH Seminar room

10:00 | Science Slam (in English)
Host: Marc Wenskat – DESY research associate

Eight short lectures of our young scientists in the fields of accelerators, astroparticle physics, particle physics and photon science
John Bekx, Summer Blot, Vanessa Grattoni, Avni Jain, Joscha Knolle, Kristjan Poder, Robert Stein, Emily Thompson.

Afternoon program
DESY auditorium

15:00 | Welcome and DESY Review (in German)
Helmut Dosch – Chairman of the DESY Board of Directors

Award Ceremony
Host:Kerstin Straub – Head of PR department

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Wolfgang Lange, Helga Schwendicke, Matthias Clausen, Bernd Petersen, Jürgen Giesert, Volker Rupprecht, Sylvie Faverot-Spengler

Award of the Association of the Friends and Sponsors of DESY 2019 (VFFD)
Marcel Usner, Max Rose (presentations will be held in English)


New Lead Scientists at DESY
Ingrid-Maria Gregor, Cigdem Issever, , Anna Nelles

17:00 | Jentschke Lecture (in English)
Climate at the Crossroads: Choosing our Planet’s Future
William Drew Collins,
Director Environmental Resilience Accelerator, Climate & Ecosystem Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Evening program
DESY Canteen

18:30 | Reception