PETRA IV Beamline Portfolio Users' Workshop




PETRA IV will be a synchrotron radiation source with ultra-low emittance providing X-rays with extremely high brightness. It will be ideally suited to follow biological, chemical, and physical processes on all relevant length scales from atomic dimensions to millimetres and time scales down to the sub-nanosecond range.

The PETRA IV Scientific Instrumentation Proposal (SIP) submission process for the future PETRA IV instrumentation has been finalized at the end of 2020. Since then, there has been a technical and scientific review of the SIPs.

The PETRA IV project team and DESY management have developed the future PETRA IV beamline portfolio based on the SIPs, their reviews, and discussions with DESY partners and collaborators.

This workshop is intended to present and discuss the current status of the PETRA IV beamline portfolio with the user community and SIP proposers.

Many thanks again to all SIP Proposers and Co-proposers as well as SIP Scientific Reviewers for their intense work and support. Your efforts are very much appreciated!

This workshop will be an online event.

Registration Form
  • Wednesday, 29 September
    • 13:00 13:40
      Welcome and Introduction
      Convener: Stephan Klumpp (FS-PETRA)
      • 13:00
        Welcome and Introduction 20m
        Speaker: Christian Schroer (FS-PETRA)
      • 13:20
        The Path to the PETRA IV Beamline Portfolio 20m
        Speaker: Kai Bagschik (FS-PETRA)
    • 13:40 13:55
      Coffee Break 15m
    • 13:55 15:25
      X-ray Spectroscopy Beamlines
      Convener: Hans-Christian Wille (FS-PETRA-S)
      • 13:55
        X-ray Absorption and Emission Spectroscopy Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Aleksandr Kalinko (FS-PETRA-S (P64))
      • 14:05
        Material Science Lab Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Wolfgang Caliebe (FS-PETRA-S (P64))
      • 14:15
        High Brilliance XAFS and Q-EXAFS Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Edmund Welter (FS-PETRA-S (P65))
      • 14:25
        Nuclear Resonance and X-ray Raman Scattering Beamline 10m
        Speakers: Ilya Sergeev (FS-PETRA-S (P01)) , Hlynur Gretarsson (FS-PETRA-S (P01))
      • 14:35
        Resonant X-ray Scattering Beamline 10m
        Speakers: Sonia Francoual (FS-PETRA-S (P09)) , Hlynur Gretarsson (FS-PETRA-S (P01))
      • 14:45
        Hard X-ray Photoelectron Spectromicroscopy Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Christoph Schlueter (FS-PETRA-S (P22))
      • 14:55
        Discussions 30m
    • 15:25 15:45
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 15:45 16:45
      Macromolecular Crystallography and Biological SAXS Beamlines
      Convener: Oliver Seeck (FS-PETRA-D)
      • 15:45
        High-Throughput and Polychromatic Macromolecular Crystallography 10m
        Speaker: Johanna Hakanpaeae (FS-PETRA-D (P11))
      • 15:55
        BioSAXS Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Clement Blanchet (EMBL)
      • 16:05
        Cutting-edge and Time-resolved Macromolecular Crystallography 10m
        Speaker: Gleb Bourenkov (EMBL)
      • 16:15
        High-Throughput MX and Micro-Tomography of Biological Samples 10m
        Speaker: Thomas Schneider (EMBL)
      • 16:25
        Discussions 20m
    • 16:45 17:05
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 17:05 17:35
      VUV and Soft X-ray Beamlines
      Convener: Kai Bagschik (DESY FS-PE)
      • 17:05
        High Resolution High Stability Soft X-ray Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Moritz Hoesch (FS-PETRA-S (P04))
      • 17:15
        Time-resolved VUV Spectroscopy Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Aleksei Kotlov (FS-PETRA-S (P66))
      • 17:25
        Discussions 10m
  • Thursday, 30 September
    • 13:00 14:00
      X-ray Diffraction and Scattering Beamlines
      Convener: Oliver Seeck (FS-PETRA-D)
      • 13:00
        Advanced Micro-Nano X-ray Scattering Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Stephan Roth (FS-PETRA-D (P03))
      • 13:10
        SAXSMAT² Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Sylvio Haas (FS-PETRA-D (P62))
      • 13:20
        Surface and Interface Dynamics Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Chen Shen (FS-PETRA-D (P08))
      • 13:30
        Powder Diffraction and Chemical Crystallography 10m
        Speaker: Martin Tolkiehn (FS-PETRA-D (P24))
      • 13:40
        Discussions 20m
    • 14:00 14:20
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 14:20 15:55
      X-ray Imaging and Coherence Beamlines
      Convener: Hans-Christian Wille (FS-PETRA-S)
      • 14:20
        Coherent Applications Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Michael Sprung (FS-PETRA-S (P10))
      • 14:30
        Automated Scanning Nanoprobe 10m
        Speaker: Michael Stueckelberger (FS-PETRA)
      • 14:40
        Monochromatic Nanoprobe Beamline 10m
        Speakers: Gerald Falkenberg (FS-PETRA-S (P06)) , Andreas Schropp (FS-PETRA)
      • 14:50
        Pink Beam Nanoprobe Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Gerald Falkenberg (FS-PETRA-S (P06))
      • 15:00
        Full Field Imaging for Materials Science 15m
        Speaker: Christina Krywka (Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon)
      • 15:15
        In-situ Bragg Microscopy Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Florian Bertram (FS-PETRA-D (P08))
      • 15:25
        Discussions 30m
    • 15:55 16:15
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 16:15 17:55
      High-Energy X-ray Beamlines
      Convener: Oliver Seeck (FS-PETRA-D)
      • 16:15
        Extreme Conditions Time Resolved XRD and Imaging Microscope (ExTReM) 10m
        Speaker: Hanns-Peter Liermann (FS-PETRA-D (P02.2))
      • 16:25
        In-situ Large Volume Press Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Robert Farla (FS-PETRA-D (P61))
      • 16:35
        High-Energy Micro-diffraction, Scattering Imaging Beamline 10m
        Speaker: Ulrich Lienert (FS-PETRA-D (P21.2))
      • 16:45
        High-Energy Diffraction Microscopy Beamline 10m
        Speakers: Ann-Christin Dippel (FS-PETRA-D (P07/P21.1)) , Martin von Zimmermann (FS-PETRA-D (P07/P21.1))
      • 16:55
        High-Energy Material Science Beamline 15m
        Speaker: Peter Staron (Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon)
      • 17:10
        Powder Diffraction and Total Scattering 10m
        Speaker: Martin Etter (FS-PETRA-D (P02.1))
      • 17:20
        Discussions 30m
    • 17:55 18:40
      Wrap-up and Next Steps
      Conveners: Christian Schroer (PS-PETRA) , Hans-Christian Wille (FS-PETRA-S) , Kai Bagschik (FS-PETRA) , Oliver Seeck (FS-PETRA-D)