Nov 8 – 10, 2023
DESY Hamburg
Europe/Berlin timezone

The Wolfgang Pauli Centre for Theoretical Physics, a joint forum of the Universität Hamburg and DESY, organizes a three-day symposium on theoretical physics, which brings together leading international experts from different areas of physics, particularly mathematical physics, high energy physics, quantum field theory, and string theory.

This year’s focus topics are: 

  • Non-perturbative effects from condensed matter to particle physics
  • String theory, black holes, and quantum information
  • Topological quantum field theory and invariants


Apart from the in-person participation (only or registered participants), there will be the possibility to connect remotely and listen to the individual talks.

Together with the symposium, the award ceremony for the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics 2023 which is awarded to Professor Emeritus Edward Witten, Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, will take place at the Planetarium Hamburg on November 8th, 2023. The event is fully booked and registration is not possible anymore (23 October 2023).   


Travel Fellowships for Graduate Students
The Wolfgang Pauli Centre for Theoretical Physics encourages the participation of graduate students in the Symposium and therefore awards travel grants funded by the Joachim Herz Stiftung. Interested students should provide

  • a brief curriculum vitae (max. 2 pages), 
  • a brief description of the current research project (max. 1/2 page), and, 
  • a letter of motivation why they want to attend the symposium (max. 1/2 page).

Please send your application with these documents in one single pdf file until 15th October 2023 to

The applicants will be notified shortly after the deadline. 


Confirmed Speakers

Mina Aganagic (UC Berkeley)

Alexander Altland (U of Cologne)

Mirjam Cvetic (U of Pennsylvania)
Netta Engelhardt (MIT)
Pavel Etingof (MIT)
Giovanni Felder (ETH Zuerich)
Stefan Hollands (U of Leipzig)
Daniel Jafferis (Harvard U)
David Jordan (U of Edinburgh)
Roberto Longo (U of Rome II)
Beatrix Muehlmann (McGill Univ.)
Hirosi Ooguri (Caltech & KIPMU)
Sam Raskin (Yale U)

Gautam Satishchandran (Princeton U)

Graeme Segal (U of Oxford)
Alexander Strohmaier (U of Leeds)
Catharina Stroppel (U of Bonn)
Clifford Taubes [virtual] (Harvard U)
Joerg Teschner (DESY and U of Hamburg)
Cumrun Vafa (Harvard U)

Edward Witten (IAS Princeton)
Xiao-Gang Wen (MIT)


Local organizing committee

Elli Pomoni, Volker Schomerus, Christoph Schweigert, Timo Weigand


The Symposium is supported by the Joachim Herz Stiftung.



DESY Hamburg
Auditorium CSSB (bldg. 15)
Notkestr. 85, 22607 Hamburg