Apr 26 – 27, 2018
Europe/Berlin timezone

The European Cluster of Advanced Laser Light Sources (EUCALL) invites you to join the open EUCALL Workshop “Addressing Societal Challenges using Advanced Laser Light Sources". The workshop highlights research using synchrotron, free-electron laser and optical laser light sources in areas of high relevance to societal needs. Requests for research driven by these needs and the challenges in addressing these requests will be introduced. Examples of experiments using light sources will demonstrate the contributions light sources already provide.

A special topic will be to discuss how a combined use of synchrotron, free-electron laser and optical laser light sources opens a route to obtaining additional information in these research fields.

Invited speakers will describe research needs and applications using x-ray and ultraviolet radiation techniques in the fields of: 


  • Dr. Philippe Wernet (HZB, Germany)
  • Prof. Majed Chergui (EPFLausanne, Switzerland)
  • Prof. James Durrant (Imperial College, UK)


  • Prof. Jasper van Thor (Imperial College, UK)
  • Prof. Francesca Calegari (DESY, Germany)
  • Prof. Michael Henning (leadXpro, Switzerland)

Materials in Engineering and Technology

  • Prof. Henning-Friis Poulsen (Technical Uni. Denmark, Denmark)
  • Prof. Martin Aeschlimann (Uni. Kaiserslauten, Germany)
  • Dr. Andrew Barrow (Rolls-Royce plc, UK)

Information Technology

  • Prof. Claus Michael Schneider (FZ Jülich, Germany)
  • Prof. Jan Lüning (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France)
  • Prof. Joachim von Zanthier (Uni. Erlangen-Nuremburg, Germany)


Registration open: 15 February – 01 April 2018

Registration is free for all participants Places are limited to approximately 100 (first-come, first-served)


Local Organizers:

  • Dr. Graham Appleby (European XFEL, Germany)
  • Dr. Thomas Tschentscher (European XFEL, Germany)
  • Mr. Matthias Kreuzeder (DESY, Germany)

Scientific Program Committee:

  • Prof. Dimitris Charalampidis (ELI-ALPS, Hungary)
  • Prof. Mike Dunne (LCLS, USA)
  • Prof. Jon Marangos (Imperial College, UK)
  • Dr. Kazuo Tanaka (ELI-NP, Romania)
  • Prof. Kiyoshi Ueda (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Prof. Wilfried Wurth (DESY, Germany)


CSSB Auditorium
Notkestrasse 85, 22607 Hamburg, Germany