Jul 12 – 23, 2021
Europe/Berlin timezone

Radio Simulations of Upgoing Extensive Air Showers Observed from Low-Earth Orbit

Jul 14, 2021, 6:00 PM
1h 30m


Poster NU | Neutrinos & Muons Discussion


Andres Romero-Wolf (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology)


Tau neutrinos interacting in the Earth can result in upgoing extensive air showers. These showers produce optical and radio emission that can be detected by orbital and suborbital platforms. As part of NASA’s nuSpaceSim program, to develop a comprehensive end-to-end simulation package to model these signals, we present results of radio emission simulations using ZHAireS for observation from low -Earth orbit. Peculiar properties of the radio emission arise from the fact that these showers develop in extremely rarified portions of the Earth’s atmosphere and, being observed from hundreds of kilometers distance, have distinct coherent emission features compared to ground observations.


radio detection; ultra-high energy neutrinos; space-based observatories

Subcategory Experimental Methods & Instrumentation

Primary authors

Andres Romero-Wolf (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology) Prof. Jaime Alvarez-Muñiz (Universidade Santiago de Compostela, Spain) Dr Yosui Akaike (Waseda Research Institute for Science and Engineering, Japan) Prof. Luis A. Anchordoqui (Lehman College, City University of New York) Prof. Douglas Bergman (University of Utah) Ike Buckland (University of Utah) Dr Washington Rodrigues de Carvalho (Radboud University, The Netherlands) Austin Cummings (Gran Sasso Science Institute) Dr Johannes Eser (University of Chicago) Claire Guépin (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris) John Krizmanic (4NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center) Dr Simon Mackovjak (Slovak Akademy of Sciences, Slovakia) Prof. Angela Olinto (University of Chicago) Dr Sameer Patel (University of Iowa) Dr Tom Paul (Lehman College, CUNY, USA) Alex Reustle (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center) Prof. Fred Sarazin (Colorado School of Mines, USA) Dr Harm Schoorlemmer (Max Planck Institute für Kernphysik) Mary Hall Reno (University of Iowa) Dr Tonia Venters (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center) Prof. Lawrence Wiencke (Colorado School of Mines) Dr Stephanie Wissel (Pennsylvania State University) Prof. Enrique Zas (Universidade Santiago de Compostela, Spain)

Presentation materials