Jul 12 – 23, 2021
Europe/Berlin timezone

Preliminary Cosmic Ray Results from the HAWC's Eye Telescopes

Jul 14, 2021, 12:00 PM
1h 30m


Talk CRI | Cosmic Ray Indirect Discussion


Florian Rehbein (RWTH Aachen University)


The compact imaging air-Cherenkov telescope HAWC’s Eye was developed to operate together with the High-Altitude Water Cherenkov Gamma-Ray Observatory (HAWC). The combination of both detection techniques in a hybrid setup provides a significant improvement in energy and angular resolution, aiming for improved measurements of the cosmic ray composition above 10 TeV and contributing to the physics program of the observatory. Preliminary results of the first hybrid measurements of the cosmic ray spectrum are presented. A second HAWC's Eye telescope was successfully commissioned at the HAWC site in 2019. Two measurement nights since then recorded the data used in this analysis. The HAWC's Eye events were successfully synchronized with HAWC and further used to characterize the hybrid system. A complete simulation of the hybrid configuration was used to develop algorithms to reconstruct the energy and arrival direction of proton-induced air showers. Those algorithms were successfully applied to the measured cosmic ray events to analyze the improved performance of the hybrid detection. The spectrum reconstructed with HAWC's Eye is compatible with the spectrum reconstructed solely from the coincident HAWC data.


EAS Array; IACT; hybrid

other Collaboration HAWC's Eye Project
Subcategory Experimental Results
Collaboration HAWC

Primary author

Florian Rehbein (RWTH Aachen University)


Mrs Giang Do (RWTH Aachen University) Maria Magdalena Gonzalez (Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM) Dr Ruben Alfaro (Instituto de Física, UNAM) Thomas Bretz (RWTH Aachen University) Arturo Iriarte (Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM) Mr Yunior Perez (Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM) Francisco Javier Gonzalez (Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM) Frank Maslowski (RWTH Aachen University) Merlin Schaufel (RWTH Aachen University) José Serna-Franco (IF-UNAM) Franziska Tischbein (RWTH Aachen University) Ibrahim Torres (UNAM) Jesus Martinez-Castro (Centro de Investigación en Computación, Instituto Politécnico Nacional) Oscar Chaparro-Amaro (Centro de Investigación en Computación, Instituto Politécnico Nacional) Miguel Martinez-Felipe (Centro de Investigación en Computación, Instituto Politécnico Nacional)

Presentation materials