26-30 July 2021
Europe/Berlin timezone

Results from the LHCf Run II in proton-proton collisions at √s = 13 TeV

29 Jul 2021, 10:45


Parallel session talk Astroparticle and Gravitational Waves T01: Astroparticle and Gravitational Waves


Alessio Tiberio (INFN, Firenze (IT))


The LHCf experiment, at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), consists of two small independent calorimeters placed 140 metres away, on opposite sides of the ATLAS interaction point (IP1). LHCf has the capability to measure zero-degree neutral particles, covering the pseudorapidity region above 8.4. By measuring the very-forward particle production rates at the highest energy possible at an accelerator, LHCf aims to improve our understanding of hadronic interactions in air-showers induced by ultra-high-energy cosmic rays in the atmosphere.
This contribution will highlight recent results from Run II measurements with p-p collisions at 13 TeV. First, I will show our neutron energy spectrum measurements, for several pseudorapidity regions, and compare them to the predictions of various hadronic interaction models. From these measurements, we have also extracted the average inelasticity of the collisions, which strongly affects the development of an air-shower. I will then present our $π^0$ Feynman-x and transverse momentum spectra, which affect the development of the electromagnetic component of an air-shower, and also compare them to model predictions. Finally, I will discuss the advantages of an ATLAS-LHCf combined analysis, and show a preliminary energy spectrum of very-forward photons produced in diffractive collisions as tagged by ATLAS.

Email alessio.tiberio@fi.infn.it
First author Alessio Tiberio
Collaboration / Activity LHCf

Primary author

Alessio Tiberio (INFN, Firenze (IT))


Oscar Adriani (University of Florence and INFN) Eugenio Berti (Università e INFN di Firenze) Lorenzo Bonechi (INFN) Massimo Bongi (University of Florence and INFN) Raffaello D'Alessandro (University of Florence and INFN) Sebastiano Detti (INFN) Maurice Haguenauer (Ecole-Polytechnique, Palaiseau) Prof. Yoshitaka Itow (ISEE/KMI Nagoya University) Katsuaki Kasahara (Faculty of System Engineering, Shibaura Institute of Technology, Tokyo) Hiroaki Menjo (ISEE, Nagoya University) Prof. Yasushi Muraki (ISEE, Nagoya University) Ken Ohashi (Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya Univ.) Paolo Papini (INFN) Sergio Bruno Ricciarini Takashi Sako (Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo) Nobuyuki Sakurai (Tokushima University) Kenta Sato (Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya University) Tadahisa Tamura (Kanagawa University) Shoji Torii (Waseda University) Alessia Tricomi (University of Catania and INFN) William C. Turner (LBNL, Berkeley) Mana Ueno (Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya University)

Presentation Materials