ATTENTION: We have to do a short maintenance with downtime on Wed 19 Oct 2022, 9:00 - 10:00 CEST. Please finish your work in time to prevent data loss.
Jun 28 – 30, 2021
Europe/Berlin timezone


European XFEL is currently working on road maps for major upgrades of its instrumentation considering the present 6 Instruments as well as equipping already existing, but still empty, tunnels and even construction of additional tunnels.

One scientific key area was identified: Science on Attosecond to Few-Femtosecond Time Scales.

To that end, the International Workshop "AsToFewFs@FutureFELs" will illuminate current interests and stimulate thinking and future visions in major research fields within that topic.

This 3-day (online) workshop is planned to feature 9 topical sessions, with more than 30 presentations by invited scientists. However, a major focus of this workshop will be on free discussions on emerging science questions in 5-10 years from now, where we encourage all workshop attendees to lively participate in "virtual roundtable" discussions in each topical session. These discussions include the opportunity to bring up more ideas, also by making use of screen-sharing important slides by participants, if desired. This is an exciting opportunity to contribute to and shape the future of an emerging field with substantial scientific and technological impact potential.

Goals of this workshop will be:

- Visions of key ultrafast science questions in 5-10++ years from now

- Major drivers in different fields from AMO and nonlinear physics through chemistry into condensed-phase and (quantum-)materials science

- Accelerator/undulator concepts necessary for envisaged science

- Stimulate thinking "outside the box" of currently ongoing or near-future activities

We are looking forward to seeing and discussing with you!


Program committee:

Stefano Bonetti

Francesca Calegari

Hermann Dürr

Gianluca Geloni

Gerhard Grübel

Marc Guetg

Steve Johnson

Alex Kuleff

Alexander Lichtenstein

Anders Madsen

Michael Meyer

Fernando Martín

Andreas Scherz

Serguei Molodtsov (EuXFEL/Local Chair)

Thomas Pfeifer (Chair)